Glennice Harmon by John Wooden at TED

The foundation's logo.

Image via Wikipedia

Glennice Harmon. I came across this delightful poem when it was read out by John Wooden when he was giving a talk at TED on the meaning of True Success

.

“With profound simplicity, Coach John Wooden redefines success and urges us all to pursue the best in ourselves. In this inspiring talk he shares the advice he gave his players at UCLA, quotes poetry and remembers his father’s wisdom.”

If only one could impart such knowledge and wisdom into every new life – “Never try to be better than someone else”. How simple is that!

“They ask me why I teach
And I reply, “Where could I find more splendid company?”

There sits a statesman,
Strong, unbiased, wise,
Another later Webster
Silver-tongued.
And there a doctor
Whose quick, steady hand
Can mend a bone or stem the lifeblood’s flow.
A builder sits beside him — 
Upward rise the arches of that church he builds wherein
That minister will speak the word of God,
And lead a stumbling soul to touch the Christ.
And all about
A lesser gathering
Of farmers, merchants, teachers,
Laborers, men
Who work and vote and build
And plan and pray into a great tomorrow.
And, I say,
“I may not see the church,
Or hear the word,
Or eat the food their hands will grow.”
And yet — I may.
And later I may say,
“I knew the lad, and he was strong,
Or weak, or kind, or proud
Or bold or gay.
I knew him once,
But then he was a boy.”
They ask me why I teach and I reply,
“Where could I find more splendid company?”

Related Quotes

“At God’s footstool, to confess,
A poor soul knelt and bowed his head.
‘I failed,’ he cried.  The master said,
‘Thou didst thy best.  That is success.”

“No written word, no spoken plea,
Can teach our youth what they should be,
Nor all the books on all the shelves.
It’s what the teachers are themselves.”

Leave a Reply

