Quake hero nicknamed ‘IncrediBro’ talks about harrowing ordeal – Campbell Live – Video – 3 News

Brill tram No 178 on the Christchurch Tramway

Image via Wikipedia

 

Ahsei “Ace” Sopoaga | the “Super Samoan”

Quake hero nicknamed ‘IncrediBro’ talks about harrowing ordeal – Campbell Live – Video – 3 News.

And an article at Stuff – “They referred to him on the internet as “New Zealand’s superman”, the “human digger”, and a “true Kiwi hero”. But no one knew who he was.”

Ahsei “Ace” Sopoaga | the “Super Samoan”

Ahsei “Ace” Sopoaga

When I saw this guy on the news on the day of the Christchurch earthquake my immediate reaction was – “Geez….this guy is superhuman! How is it possible for one man to lift all that fallen masonry?”

Extraorordinary! And I’m so pleased that someone has tracked him down to say thank you on behalf of all New Zealanders. But I guess I understand his reticence to be seen as a hero as, afterall, all he was trying to do was help someone who was in dire need of his assistance.

I for one, at the very instant that I saw that newsreel footage, wanted to shake that man by the hand. Even give him a big hug! And why is that? Am I thinking “Gosh I hope this is exactly how I would have reacted in exactly the same circumstances?” You hope that it is. But maybe it isn’t? And your immediate reaction is just – respect! You did it! You did exactly what it is that I would have wanted to do myself.

I’ve said it already – RESPECT! I have so much respect for what it is that this guy, and maybe thousands of others, have done over the last few days. Stay strong Christchurch.

One thought on “Quake hero nicknamed ‘IncrediBro’ talks about harrowing ordeal – Campbell Live – Video – 3 News

  1. Hi,
    I agree, this guy was brilliant, and he just got in there and did what ever he could, the adrenaline must of been pumping.

    Thank You for the mention in your blog.

Leave a Reply

