Keith Michael Patrick O’Brien – what were you thinking!?

English: A photo of the Cardinal Keith Michael...

English: A photo of the Cardinal Keith Michael Patrick O’Brien. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Keith Michael Patrick O’Brien – I’d really love to have this guy round for dinner. Keith – any time you’re passing through drop us a line as I’d love to have a chat.

CARDINAL KEITH O'BRIEN

‘In recent days certain allegations which have been made against me have become public. Initially, their anonymous and non-specific nature led me to contest them.

‘However, I wish to take this opportunity to admit that there have been times that my sexual conduct has fallen below the standards expected of me as a priest, archbishop and cardinal.

‘To those I have offended, I apologise and ask forgiveness. To the Catholic Church and people of Scotland, I also apologise.

‘I will now spend the rest of my life in retirement. I will play no further part in the public life of the Catholic Church in Scotland’.

“… what an incredibly sad and humiliating way to end a career. This man could have helped turn things around for the gay community. How tragic that he hid his own attraction to men, while working so actively and energetically to prevent LGBT people from having the same rights as everyone else.”

Leave a Reply

